“Bittersweetness”

A letter came to me one day.
The envelope said that it’s from you.
I’m curious of the contents, I musy say,
For there was not just one letter but two.

I tore the envelope from the side
And pulled the letters out.
My hand was shaking while I cried;
Those terars of mine carried doubt.

I couldn’t believe what I just read,
But the letter in black and white said,
“I’m sorry; your eyes may now be red,
But your love was shot and is now dead.”

My face sank when I heard the news;
No way that can be true.
My heart felt like it got a bruise.
Of all things, why did it happen to you?

I unfolded the second letter
And began to read it slowly.
My emotions began to feel better
When I saw the page from your diary.

I began to feel bittersweet
When I saw exactly what you wrote.
You made my heart skip beat,
And here I’ll say it; let me quote,

“I was always greeted by my lovely sunshine
In the beautiful, sunny mornings.
Her cheerful smile makes me day sublime,
But today I will go to a journey.

“This journey is not like any other;
It’s more than just a simple trip.
Someone wants to take the like of another,
And I must make sure that plan get ripped.

“While I may not meet my love again,
I hope that I’ll survive the blow.
I’ve always wanted to say to the maiden
That I love her with all my soul.”

My eyes were swelling from all the tears
When I read all the writings of the letter.
Your love gave me comfort from my fears;
You made me so happy and light as a feather.

I caress the diary page
And hope to see you again someday.
To the one who killed you, I’m enraged;
To my knight, I love you, I must say.

Prequel to #5 Visit of Remembrance
Written on Monday, October 25, 2010
Theme: Love | Stanzas: 11 | Lines: 44
Rhyming sequence: ABAB | Syllabic range: unordered

I figured that my first few poems were so…more on the melancholic side, and Andrea said I should write about love. I’m not so accustomed to love and the experiences, so this is just a random shot at it. Hihi.

Like I said, I’m not that experienced when it comes to things of love, and this beginner’s work is proof of it. I see it now, and there’s so much uneven syllables (so strict of me to consider that). Anyway, it’s just my first shot to writing a love poem. More of a story here. In addition to that, this is the first poem that I’ve written that has a sequence of ABAB. I favor the AABB style more that time, so I kinda had a hard time writing this once.